How to factory reset macbook pro

Things to do before the Reset

Depending on what you do with your MacBook Pro after the reset, here are some things you must consider doing before the process…

Deauthorize iTunes – you will be needing this if you will be selling or giving away your MacBook Pro after the reset. By deauthorizing iTunes from accessing the device, you’re protecting both your privacy and the privacy of the new owner. Here’s how to do it:

  1. Open iTunes on your Mac.
  2. Click Account in the menu bar.
  3. Choose Authorizations > Deauthorize This Computer.
  4. Provide your Apple ID and password.
  5. Click Deauthorize.

Disable iCloud – this is a no-brainer actually as you already know that with iCloud enabled, many of your data may become accessible to the new owner. But if you’ll be the only one to use the laptop after the reset, you may not disable it so you can retrieve your notes, bookmarks, reminders, etc. easily.

  1. Choose Apple menu > System Preferences.
  2. Select iCloud.
  3. Click Sign Out.
  4. Confirm that you want to remove data from your Mac.

Disable FileVault – FileVault encrypts data on the startup disk as protection but since you’ll be restoring your Macbook Pro, it’s best to turn it off.

  1. Go to the Apple menu > System Preferences.
  2. Choose Security & Privacy, then click FileVault.
  3. Click the lock icon to unlock it.
  4. Enter the administrator name and password.
  5. Choose Turn Off FileVault.

Step-by-step Instructions on how to Factory Reset MacBook Pro

Before the reset, make sure you backup all your files and data so you won’t lose any important files during the problem. All third-party files that are stored in your device’s hard drive will be deleted that’s why this is very important.

Step 1: Run your MacBook Pro in Recovery Mode

It is in Recovery Mode that you’d be able to do some very important tasks like wiping off contents of your MacBook’s drive and the reinstallation of the operating system. Follow these steps to restart your laptop into Recovery mode:

  1. Click on the Apple menu in the top left corner of the screen.
  2. Click Restart.
  3. As the system restarts, hold the combination of Command and R keys together.
  4. The Recovery Mode window would soon appear on the screen.

Step 2: Reformat MacBook Pro’s hard drive

You would need to do this if you want to restore your MacBook Pro and this will deleted everything in the hard drive.

  1. Choose Disk Utility in the Utilities window.
  2. Click on the Continue button.
  3. Choose your startup disk.
  4. Click Erase from the buttons at the top of the Disk Utilities window.
  5. Choose Mac OS Extended (Journaled) from the menu.
  6. Click Erase.
  7. Once the process is complete, exit the Disk Utility by going to the Disk Utility menu in the top left corner and clicking on Quit Disk Utility.

Step 3: Reinstall macOS

After doing the second step, the hard drive of your MacBook Pro is now blank and ready for the reinstallation of the operating system. Unlike Windows, the reinstallation of the macOS is pretty easy to do:

  1. Simply click Reinstall macOS.
  2. Confirm that you really want to reinstall it.
  3. Follow on-screen instructions.

That’s pretty much it! Your MacBook Pro is now a clean slate and if you’re going to give it away or sell it, you can leave it with only the OS running and let the new owner do whatever it is he/she wants to do with it.

Thanks for reading!

Erase all data from Macbook Pro

I know. It’s a scary title. But the reason why you’re doing this is because you’ve gummed up the hard drive and you want it to work better. So we need to unclog it. Erasing data is the answer. But you’ve backed up your data, you’ve got your boot disk, so you’re ready to go. So let’s do it.

  1. Start by shutting your MacBook off.
  2. Restart and quickly press the CMD and the R keys together. Make sure you do this before you hear the startup sound. Hold the keys together for a bit and you’ll be taken to the OSX Utilities screen.
  3. Click Disk Utility and click Continue.
  4. Go to Applications ›› Utilities ›› Disk Utility
  5. Be sure all your external hard drives are unplugged from your Mac.
  6. You will see your hard drive name listed twice. You’ll want to click on the 2nd name.
  7. Click the Erase tab at the top. Don’t worry. Not erasing yet.
  8. Under Format, choose Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Name can remain what it is or you can change it.
  9. If you really want to delete as much content as possible, run Erase Free Space before you finish the steps. Running it after the next steps will waste your time. Essentially, Erase Free Space overwrites and unused space (not the master content itself).
  10. Choose how secure you want the hard drive by clicking Security Options. If you’re selling your computer, drag the slider to the far right (Overwritten 7 times!). I chose the middle option because I want it cleaned up as much as possible, but don’t mind if some files remain (the less secure, the faster the erase process). The middle option erases over the content three times. Perfecto.
  11. WARNING: This is where the magic happens! Once you click Erase, it’ll start erasing. Bye-bye content.
  12. Now sit back and have more coffee. I’m onto wine now. This will take an hour or two. Take a break.
Related text  How to simplify fractions

Congratulations, you’re now on your way to a faster, cleaner Mac.

To continue with the series, head to the next chapter where we boot your new Mac with the flash drive we created with OS X Mavericks. This will tell the computer to come alive once again and install Mavericks – the first piece of software on your empty Macbook Pro.

Like this post? Please share to your friends: