How to delete friends on facebook

We are all used to using the Messenger app to talk to our friends and it has even become more common to message them there than to ring them or send them a text. However, it is not uncommon to be approached by people that you don’t know, for example, if you’re selling something on Facebook’s marketplace app someone interested could message you to receive more information on the item you’re offering. Or you might have received annoying messages from someone that you don’t know, and you’d like to stop this person from contacting you. So, here’s what you can do to remove them from your Messenger app.

The first step you can take is to simply delete your conversation with them. Here’s how to do that:

  • Right click, or tap and hold on mobile, to open the submenu for a specific conversation. There’s two choices:
  • Click “Archive”, to archive the conversation so you won’t see it but can access it later
  • Click “Delete”, to permanently delete your copy of the conversation. Keep in mind, the other person will still have their copy if the hadn’t deleted it as well.

However, deleting the conversation doesn’t necessarily remove a contact who is not in your list of Facebook friends. They would still be able to contact you, so if you want to make sure they don’t, you’d need to block them:

  • Go to the contact in Messenger and select the ‘Settings’ icon (usually a circle with the letter “i” in the top right corner)
  • Select Block Messages from {their name}
  • And voilà! This person can no longer send you messages on Messenger, however, they will be able to interact with you via Facebook.
Related text  How to make a hair bun

It’s important to understand that there are two types of messages from people that you don’t know. The first one is the message request. If someone that has a mutual Facebook friend with you contacts you, their message goes into your Message Requests box. Then you can decide whether you want to receive that message or not by accepting or declining it. If you accept, the message goes into your inbox, otherwise, it disappears. The second type of messages are the filtered ones. If you receive a message from someone you don’t know, and you don’t have a mutual friend, their message goes into your Filtered Messages box.

Following these steps, you would be able to remove anyone you don’t know from you Messenger app. Any questions – just leave us a comment below or tweet us @JustAskGemalto.

3

Answer

Friends

Most likely you have figured out how to hide your friend’s posts. You can hover your mouse over any post on your wall and an “X” will appear in the upper right corner. When you click on it, you’ll get some choices.

  • Hide this post
  • Hide all posts by the person who posted
  • Hide all *insert application name here*. This will only show up is the post is associated with an app, like Farmville. It’s my favorite option as all those application alerts drive me crazy. But, a quick click and you’ll be bothered by Farmville (or Zombieville, Horoscopes, or My Dog Just Ate Dinner etc.) no more.

Non-Friends

If the person you want to block is not one of your friends, you won’t get the same option. You won’t see anything at all. You may think you are out of luck, but it isn’t so. You’ll just need to go to your privacy settings to add them to your block list.

  1. Go to Account –> Privacy Settings
  2. Select the “Block Lists” section at the bottom of the screen
  3. In the “Block Users” section you can enter their name (as it appears in Facebook) and/or email address.
  4. Select “Block”
Related text  How to keep cats away

Once you block someone, that person can no longer be your friend on Facebook or interact with you (except within apps and games you both use and groups you are both a member of). However, you can easily unblock them from the same page if you ever decide you want to see their posts again.

NOTE: Facebook likes to changes things pretty often. So, if you can’t find it they could have moved it into a little different area.

Like this post? Please share to your friends: