How to delete all photos from iphone

Deleting a few photos from an iPhone or iPad is a simple process. It is only when you have to quickly delete a large number of photos that the process becomes tedious, consuming much of your precious time. In this post we are showing you two ways of quickly deleting photos from your iPhone or iPad.

Delete Photos From iPhone and iPad

How To Delete All Photos on iPhone: Bulk Delete Images

delete_bulk_images_iphone

On the off chance, if you were looking to delete only a couple of images and could not figure out the way to do it, we have a step-by-step guide to help you through the process.

  1. Launch photos app in your iPhone
  2. Click on “Select” as shown in the image above.
  3. Now, tap on the images you want to delete.
  4. Finally, click on the trash icon to delete them (at the right bottom of your screen).

You have successfully deleted the photos but the images can still be recovered.

How To Delete All Photos on iPhone: Permanently Delete Your Images

delete_images_permanently_iphone

You should know the deleting the photos from the “Photos” app will not delete the images permanently. Instead, it resides in the “Recently Deleted” album for the next 30 days. Follow the steps below in order to delete the photos permanently on iPhone.

  1. Head on to the “Photos” app.
  2. Navigate your way to the “Albums” section as pointed out in the image below.
  3. Scroll down to find “Recently Deleted” album.
  4. Again, click on “Select” to mark multiple images.
  5. Now, tap on the trash icon to delete it permanently.

How To Delete All Photos on iPhone: Using Image Capture on Mac

If you have a system running on Mac, it will be much easier to get going with the process of deleting all photos in your iPhone because you are already equipped with the tools needed. Follow the steps below in order to use “Image Capture” utility to delete all photos on iPhone.

image_capture_iphone

Image Credits: Abhishek Dubey

  1. Search for “Image Capture” on your Mac.
  2. After launching the application, tap on your device listed (here- Abhi iPhone)
  3. Select any one of the images first and then hold Ctrl (command)+A to mark all of the pictures.
  4. Now, click on the delete icon as highlighted in the image below.
Related text  How to buy land in skyrim

image_capture

How To Delete All Photos on iPhone: Using Photos App on Mac

It is a quite similar method to the way where we use “Image Capture“. I think using image capture would be a faster solution if you are trying to just delete the unnecessary images (not keeping them). But, if there is a problem, you can still utilize the photos app on Mac as well.

However, when deleting photos using “Photos” app on Mac, you need to import all of the images first (compulsory) and then you can proceed to delete it.

  1. Launch “Photos” app on your Mac.
  2. Ensure that you have connected your iPhone to the system.
  3. Select your device and then proceed to import all of your photos.
  4. After you are done importing the images, you will be asked whether to keep them or delete them from your iPhone. In our case, we would want to delete the images, so you should proceed to delete all of the images.

How To Delete All Photos on iPhone – Using Shotwell Photo Manager on Ubuntu

Fret not, we have an equally convenient solution for Linux users as well. So, if you are running Ubuntu 16.04 or a similar distro which has Shotwell Photo Manager installed, you can easily proceed to delete all of your images from your iPhone. Follow the steps below to proceed.

shotwell_iphone_linux

  1. Install Shotwell Photo Manager from Ubuntu Software Center.
  2. Simply, plug in your iPhone to your Linux system and click on “Trust” this computer when prompted on your iPhone.
  3. Now, you will be prompted to access the photos using Shotwell on your Linux system. You need to select “Shotwell” from the options displayed.
  4. In either case, you can simply head on to the “Files” and click on “iPhone” file system and then select Shotwell as shown in the image below. shotwell_launch
  5. Now, you will get to see all of your images listed. Simply, select any one of the images first and then press Ctrl + A to select all of the pictures available.
  6. Press the “delete” key to delete all of your images.

How To Delete All Photos on iPhone: On a Windows 10 System

If you have a windows powered system, you can delete all of your images from your iPhone in no time.

Related text  How to tune a guitar

You have to simply plug in your iPhone to the system and then click on “Trust” this computer on your iPhone. You can directly access the images of your iPhone without any additional applications just like you access an SD card or a pen drive.

windows_iphone_photo

Navigate your way to access the images in this way: Apple iPhone-> Internal Storage -> DCIM-> 100APPLE 

Finally, drag and select all of your images or press and hold Ctrl + A to mark all of your images and then press the “delete” button. You can also select individual files if you do not want to delete everything.

The end of summer is near. All the tell-tale signs are there: Apple rumors abound concerning fall product releases, and your iPhone’s Camera Roll is filling up with photos from all of your summer activities. Since you can’t just swap out an SD card on your iPhone(s AAPL) like you can with your old point-and-shoot camera, managing how much free space you have left on your Camera Roll is a vital part of being able to continue taking photos — especially for those among us with 16 GB versions of the iPhone packed with a whole lot of home videos.

Note: Before reading further, be absolutely sure that you have either downloaded to your Mac or uploaded to the cloud all of the photos from your iPhone that you want to keep. Because without that step, once they are deleted, you may not be able to get them back.

When iCloud’s Photo Stream becomes a river

The best way to offload the photos you take on your iPhone is to turn on Photo Stream. However, this feature does potentially double or even triple the amount of storage that your photos takes up on your iPhone. Each photo you take will be stored in your Camera Roll as well as your Photo Stream albums. When you share that same photo in a Shared Photo Stream, you create yet another copy.

Photo and Camera Usage on iPhone

To see the total amount of storage that photos use, access the Usage option under the General section of the Settings app. Scroll down until you see Photos & Camera. Here you will see a breakdown of the amount of storage taken up by the Camera Roll, Photo Library and Photo Stream.  One way to keep this duplication of photos to a minimum is to delete them from your Camera Roll after downloading them to your Mac.

Related text  How to make a tutu

Accessing the Camera Roll from your Mac

You may think that connecting your iPhone to your Mac is not necessary if you are also using Photo Stream on your Mac. Having all of your photos automatically available to you when you open iPhoto or Aperture is so convenient that you may never tether your iPhone to your Mac. Unfortunately, doing this will allow your Camera Roll to grow in size well beyond the 1,000 image limit imposed on Photo Streams.

Delete Camera Roll with iPhoto

When you do connect your iPhone to your Mac, both iPhoto and Aperture (depending on which one you’re using) will ask you if you want to delete the photos in your Camera Roll after offloading them.  Additionally you can use the Image Capture app on the Mac to select the photos in the camera roll and delete them all at once.  Launch Image Capture on your Mac, click on your iPhone under devices, choose “Select All” from the File menu, and press the delete button on the bottom of the window.  (Prior to iOS 6, this was the only option available to delete photos from your iPhone’s Camera Roll.)

Delete Camera Roll with Image Capture

Removing all photos without your Mac

You may have already tried to use the Photos app on your iPhone to try to remove your photos from the Camera Roll. And you may have discovered that you can only select your photos one at a time — there is no “select all” option to be found. While this is a good way to selectively trim the size of your Camera Roll, there is now another way to delete all your photos.

Delete Camera Roll on iPhone

Again access the Usage option under the General section of the Settings app and tap on Photos & Camera.  This time swipe your finger across the Camera Roll item in the list to reveal a Delete button. By clicking on thus button you will remove all photos from your iPhone’s Camera Roll. This action is not reversible, so be sure you are willing to delete all photos before you tap on the Delete button.

TagsCamera Roll Delete iPhone

Like this post? Please share to your friends: