How to clear google search history

When you visit any website on a Mac, your browser automatically creates and stores the history of the visited web pages and search requests. Removing this information allows you to not only protect your data confidentiality, but also clears memory space. Read on to learn how to clear web history on Mac.

How to Clear History on Safari

  1. Open Safari browser.
  2. Go to Menu → Safari → Clear History.

clear searches on Safari

  1. Select the period for which you want to clear history and click “Clear History.”

clearing cookiesFor higher security you should also clear cache files manually.  By the way, clearing the cache has a great bonus – websites will “forget” that you have visited them and will stop showing you retargeting ads.

Delete Google Search History and Cache

  1. Open Google Chrome browser.
  2. Go to Menu → Chrome → Clear Browsing Data.

google search history

  1. Select the period and items you want to clear (history, caches, passwords, cookies and others) and click “Clear Browsing Data.”

google history delete

How to clear caches of any browser or application with Clear Disk

  1. Download Clear Disk from the App Store.
  2. Launch the application and scan caches.
  3. Select caches of the browsers or individual apps or click “Select All”.
  4. Click “Clean” button.

chrome clear cache

Clear Disk app icon

Clear Disk

Learn more        Free Trial  

Articles you may be interested in:

  • free duplicate file finder
  • how to clean a mac
  • eat up disk space
  • increase mac's speed

Delete Your Google Search History

To delete all of your Google search history, follow the steps below. Once deleted, your website history log will be cleared and previously-visited websites will no longer appear in your Google history.

  1. Log in to your Google account.
  2. Visit your Web & App Activity page.
  3. Select My Activity and then choose Delete Activity By.
  4. Choose the desired date range.
  5. Select Delete.

That's it. Your Google search history is now deleted. Follow our step-by-step guide to easily delete your Google search history. Protecting your privacy online is crucial to ensuring your security is maintained and that you are able to enjoy an open, unrestricted Internet experience. When you browse the Internet without an extra layer of protection, such as a VPN, you are risking your private information being shared with third-party sites or hackers on your network. Information such as your IP address, location and search history are at risk. You should always be aware of the following:

  • Your ISP can see your activity, location, sites visited, whom you communicate with and more.
  • ISPs or other providers often share or sell this data to third parties, including advertisers. Google, in particulair, collects personally identifiable information and also tracks its users.
  • It's essential to read and understand the privacy policy of the various web-based tools or sites you visit.
Related text  How to build a castle in minecraft

To protect your privacy while browsing online, you can also do the following:

  • Use a VPN: A VPN encrypts your Internet connection, offering an exceptional level of privacy and security every time you connect. With a VPN, no one (not your ISP or snoops) can see the sites you visit, searches you conduct, your location or any other personal data.
  • Use HTTPS: HTTPS indicates that your connection is secured, meaning it is safer than using HTTP. Always use this prefix when you browse.
  • Be aware of the risks: Understand that when browsing, a lot of personal information may be exposed to your provider and websites. Being aware of this fact can help you decide what you do online and what privacy measures you take.

Sources: Google Support

LanguagesEnglish

  • English
  • Español
  • Deutsch
  • Français
  • Nederlands
  • Português
  • Türkçe
  • 简体中文

So what exactly Google knows about you?

If you could hack one of those servers, you would see incredible amounts of information the company has been collecting about it’s users since 2000. Google actually doesn’t keep this data collection a secret, but they don’t walk around announcing it loudly either. This is why it’s important to be aware of what data it collects and take control into your own hands.

GOOGLE KNOWS WHO YOU ARE:

  • your gender
  • name and surname
  • email address and password
  • your birthday
  • phone number and country

IT SEES WHAT YOU DO ONLINE:

  • each page that you visit
  • all the ads you click on
  • what you search (including voice searches)
  • your IP address and cookie info
  • your physical location
  • videos you watch
  • photos and video content you upload
  • emails you send and receive (if you use Gmail)
  • events you attend
  • files you create and save on your Google Drive
Related text  How to bake bread

AND THERE’S SO MUCH MORE

Including your plans, future trips, purchases, interests and likes because all this information is carefully combined to build a complete profile about you.

While the company claims that all this information is needed to offer you a better service (and it is difficult to disagree with that), it still feels that we are giving away too much of our personal details. No wonder you are thinking about getting rid of your whole online history!

One important note before you start

Remember that once you choose to delete your activity records, there is no way back and you won’t be able to restore them. So before you start, it may be a good idea to export and download a copy of your data just in case you ever need it.

To make a backup of your information, visit Google’s takeout page and complete these steps:

1.Read through the list and mark which products (calendars, maps, tasks, bookmarks, etc.) you want to download.

2.Choose the type of the archive, your preferred delivery method (email, Google Drive, Dropbox or oneDrive) and click “Create archive”.

3.You will receive a link that you can use to access and download your archive.

Voila! Now that you have downloaded all the information you need, let’s proceed with removing it from Google’s memory.

Like this post? Please share to your friends: